Some lessons…

I have been trying to get through some of the many lessons I have planned for the boys this year.  Slow going, at best, is really what is happening.  I do want to share a few examples of some of the work done in their books so far.

T. has been working through the the Old Testament Stories, but they aren’t really sinking in enough to remember the nest day yet.  I hope that will change soon, but I am also having a challenge creating something physical or crafty that he would enjoy doing to help him on that.  I think after we get further into the stories the easier that will get.  He is learning cursive and has completed three whole lessons.  He is actually doing fairly well, so I am thrilled that introducing cursive to him is working so far.  He accomplished three pages of writing and if you know T. at all, you know this is huge!!!  He wrote the months of the year, a letter to a Jewish Oma, and the Jewish calendar months.  He painted some of the months towards creating a calendar, but never competed them.  Every lesson we go over skip counting with 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 10s.  We bounce a ball back and forth to do this.  He has done one Nature Walk drawing about Frost.  Not so easy to draw frost. 😛  We have been putting together a nature table/Samhain alter.  Pics to come closer to Samhain.  We went online to check out Stawbale housing and I would like to try my hand at building one, but will have to wait till Spring, so the weather gives us plenty of time to plan and budget.  We are venturing to farms, even though we live on one, to see what others do on them during harvest season and we are exploring dairy farms to express the importance in history and our lives today.

B.’s lessons have been the least successful.  I hate Math!  I can’t teach it, I can just do it.  So, we had a few lessons, then I couldn’t answer his questions and gave up.  I am a total failure for him.  I am going to proceed with the lessons I have created for the Middle Ages, as feably as they are.  I hope he will get something out of it all and we will find some creative things to make from this lesson block.  He is, of course, attending all the field trips and farm trips.  His constant reading and guitar practicing has been keeping him very busy per usual.

The last pic is of T. shaking our way to homemade Butter!

2 thoughts on “Some lessons…

  1. Do you know about Math-U-See? I think it is compatible with Waldorf. My daughter loves it. We do watch the dvds of the lessons together. I find it to be wonderfully sequential. It builds skills and confidence.

  2. Math can be such a difficult subject to teach. I think it’s because so many people have negative memories of math at school, but I think the Waldorf approach helps introduce more ‘fun’ into math.

Leave a Reply

