Finished Reading:The Other Boleyn Girl by Philipa Gregory

other_boleyn_girl
I was forwarded this book last week and was able to begin it Thursday. I had heard of it, since I knew a movie had been produced with the same title recently. I am not a history buff so I did not know the reference it was making towards the Queen of England. I now know more than I ever wanted to know about the underhandedness it takes to become Queen of England and to stay in favor of the King of England. It was a great read, but the subject itself was really not a topic I would choose to subject myself to again.
It reads almost in journal style and from the point of view of Mary Boleyn, the youngest girl in that courtiers family. I won’t go into details about how the book proceeds but if you like drama and deceit, this is your book! I could hold months worth of lectures based from this books perspective of Woman’s Rights, or should I say lack of. It really reflects the period well and the circumstances around the dethroning of Queen Katherine of England.
I can’t imagine seeing these events played on the big screen. It would be too horrific to watch!

Leave a Reply

