Schooling

I have been really having a hard time getting into the school work groove, but I think as the sun emerges from it’s slumber, so am I.  Today, I thought I would start to catch up with T. on his Old Testament Stories and plan for his Native American Indian Stories to begin.  I wrote up a letter he will soon receive from Grandmother, announcing her visit, and Read to him the story of Abraham sacraficing his son and The beginning story of Moses.  After trying several times to encourage discussion in hopes we could get a writing assignment out of these two, all I got was from it all was an experiment regarding the basket Moses was placed in.  The basket was coated with Tar, so as not to sink and soak through.  So, I figured if we made paper boats to simulate the basket and make another one and paint acrylic paint over it all to simulate the tar, we could see what happens.  I have no idea what properties of science this might cover but I couldn’t draw anything out of  him.  Oh well.

I am in the process of trying to develop a little self-discipline on my part by waking early and preparing for the day ahead of time.  I am also trying to incorperate more into our work that speaks to T. rather than at him.  If that makes any sense. 😛  For B. I am trying to fill in gaps.  Especially, with mathematics we seem to get stuck every year due to his resistance to memorizing his multiplication table.  Due to this I can’t move him forward in his math study, becuase even though the concept is easy for him, the results still come out incorrect.  So, I am doing some major track work with large multiples and division for a while, until I feel he is more competent.   It took us over an hour to get through four problems of multi-digit multiplication.  That was frustrating and long, but we accomplished a great foundation.

7th-dining-06

When our paint dries and we fill up the sink with water, I will show you our results of the boat experiment.  I hope something interesting comes of it.  Anyone know how to turn this one into eduspeak? LOL

One thought on “Schooling

  1. I wouldn’t worry about multiplication MASTERY before moving on conceptually. My son Darkmirror is working on advanced level math classes in grade 10, having no exposure to the grade 9 curriculum (long story) He is doing fine – and he can’t do the multiplication tables by rote. By this point they are allowed a calculator for everything. I couldn’t have kept him engaged in math at all if I hadn’t allowed him to move at his own pace conceptually in math. (He has Asperger’s/high functioning autism)

Leave a Reply

