Ross Park Zoo, Binghamton, NY

Yesterday, we went to the Local Zoo, Ross Park Zoo, after we picked up B. from Shakespeare rehearsal.  It was over 90 degrees out and the path is mostly shaded, but mostly up hill(really steep hill).  We has water and how camera, so off we went to explore the zoo.  They are building many new structures for the animals and some new animals.  I was very happy to see all the construction.  This Zoo has been a special needs case for a while.  I am thrilled to think that they are recieving funds to really update and care for it properly.

We were fortunate that we only ran into a few other visitors while touring the grounds, so it was quiet and peaceful.  The animals were all very cooperative with my camera.  I didn’t even try to enter the greenhouse/bird house.  It was just too hot.  I couldn’t even imagine how muggy it would have been in there.

After our hour long hike and animal viewing I realized I had given myself Heat Stroke and flew home to rest and chug water as much as possible.  It was a hard evening.  But totally worth it.

2 thoughts on “Ross Park Zoo, Binghamton, NY

  1. Wow – those are very cooperative animals! Usually when we go to the zoo everybody’s sleeping or flinging poo 😉

    90 degree weather! I can’t even imagine. Last year I think we only had about 10 days that were over 90. Currently, it’s raining here in Oregon. Shocking, I know ;P

Leave a Reply

