Third Grade Happenings

We have been working on our Main Lesson Book for Third Grade Studies.    We finished up our Old Testament Main Lesson.  T. actually enjoyed many of the stories.  I would have liked to have gotten in many more stories, but I think we got as far as we needed to.  Oma, the Jewish Grandmother was returning to her home.  She had been gone far too long from her own home, but loved sharing her stories with the children.

After we finished, filling in our Main Lesson book with drawings from each of the stories we had read through, T. received a letter from “Grandmother”.  A Native American grandmother from our container story through, A Journey Through Waldorf’s Third Grade Material by Melisa Nielson at http://www.alittlegardenflower.com.  The letter told him he was to expect her to arrive shortly and enjoy new stories from her ancestry.

We are only focusing on the New York tribes.  The  League of Five Nations, Mohawk, Oneida, Seneca, Onondaga, and Oneonta.  Please excuse me if I misspelled these tribes or got them incorrectly, since I don’t have my notes in front of me and am guessing a little from memory.  We opened our study with a weaving project.  We have heard a couple creation stories from, “The Keepers of the Earth” book.  We read a book all about Mohawk Indians.

I will also be incorporating a Shelter Unit with in the N.A. study by using the various types of shelter used by them.  We began that part today.  We started with the plains Indians, tepee’s.  It was fun.  We have much more lined up for this unit.  I hope to  have all sorts of projects completed from this study.  If I am lucky I will find a reservation that we could tour and possibly have a presentation of their “ways”.

3 thoughts on “Third Grade Happenings

  1. Lovely little teepees. When I was in around 3rd grade we also studied Native Americans (although I didn’t attend a Waldorf school). I loved that project so much and remember making teepees and it being so much fun!

    I really enjoy weaving, so restful (although I’ve only ever worked on simple handmade looms, one day I may be able to afford a ‘proper’ table-top loom).

Leave a Reply

