Vacation beginnings

July fist came around and I was very prepared.  I had scrimped and saved a good amount of money in hopes of staying for an extended period of time in Massachuesetts, visiting, catching up, and having fun.  I had packed all clothes the day ahead and gathered all travel snacks and some specialty items for GFCF diet that I might have a hard time finding initially in MA.

The truck had been packed of most items the night before, so when I awoke we could head out right away.   We were all pretty excited.  The only thing about this journey that bothered me was that my man was not coming with us.  He had other plans, but it would have been nice to have gotten away on vacation with him.

We arrived in very good time and I arrived to a great hug from Brian.  I actually pulled out of it, since I was really smelly from road ware.  I unpacked the boys into our rooms and calmed down from the drive then proceeded to the nearest grocery store for yum yums and went back to cook dinner.  I love sirlion steak tips and we can’t find them in NY so I grabbed a coiuple packages for that week.   Brian was so sweet!!  He had gone out and grabbed some of the food we would need during our stay prior to arriving, so I didn’t need much else.   He also went way beyond the average hosting and purchased a game for his X-box that was appropriate for the chidren.  They were thrilled!!!  Since at home the TV is only used for PBS and watching movies, this was a huge vacation for the boys.  Their dreams were coming true right before their eyes.  LOL  They even enjoyed a few games other than the Lego Star Wars one that Brian had purchased;  Rockband and Guitar Hero.  They even got to watch cable.  These were the mainstays of their vacation.  This is what they lived and breathed most of the time we were away.  Sad, I think, but they were in heaven.  😛  I let them have at it.  It was a vacation for them too.

It was incredibly nice to be staying with Brian.  I have missed seeing him for so many years.  I am very fortunate to have really generous friends and he was incredibly kind to offer his house to myself and the boys, as long as we were willing to stay.  Our usual haunt, of staying with my friend Kara and her girls, is now a bit too crowded, with additional girls and the fact our two sets of eldest children are tweens and teens.  A tight squeeze for all of us under one roof.  I love Brians’ home.  It feels like “home” to me.  I have many memories there and attachment to the area.   Part of my time was to be dedicated to cleaning the house.  I did clean but it was mostly picked up already and I was just doing maintenance cleaning.  He wouldn’t let us help with the outside work or the basement, so there was little to be done. 😦  I enjoy cleaning this house.  Yes, I realize this is weird to some folks.  But I really enjoy cleaning others’ homes.  Totally selfish reasons I am sure.  I get quite a lot of it.  Self satisfacation, intimate connections with the house and it’s furnishings, greater connection to the people in the house, and a sense of trust and belonging.  See, you all thought I just do this cuase I am generous and kind or something.  NOT!!  Totally selfish.  So there.

Before I left for MA, I signed up for several Ravelry events.  One included spinning every day of the during the Tour de France.  Another was a swap with a theme of Mary Poppins.  Upon my arrival I pulled out my spindle and begun to spin.  My dear friend Brian just looked at me as if I had gophers growing outta my nose.  I don’t think he ever thought I would be doing such a thing.  Silly man!!  Well, after a few times of my spindle smacking the hard kitchen floor, it cracked right at the hook.  This was a major impairment to my plans.  I had heard of a fiber store in a town nearby that I wanted to check out, but it was coming up to the holiday weekend and I was sure normal business hours were void.  The next afternoon, I called the store, Fiber Loft in Harvard MA, in a panicked flurry.  I was happy to talk with the woman and was not surprised that they were closing in an hour and they were not opening till next week.  I grabbed my boys and ran out the door.  She was staying open for me and I was going to make it the least amount of inconvience as possible.  I flew through the few little towns and made it there before closing time.  I picked out a new spindle and picked up some lovely J-knits roving.  Just couldn’t resist.  Aqua and deep brown….PRETTY!!!  T. was literally pulling me out the door as soon as I walked in.  I think he saw the fever kick in immediately upon scenting the wool all around me.  He’s smarter than the average bear.  😛

On the way back from The Fiber Loft we stopped by for a surprise visit to our friend Kara’s.  Her girls and my boys have been good friends for a long time.  We went out for a yummy dinnner at one of my favorite family dining places, Tiny’s in Ayer MA.  Nummers!!

It was great to see Kara again.  I miss her terribly. 😦  I hope that I have had enough of an influence on Abigail to have her become an evil mastermind that I see as her greatest potential.  Muuaaaahhhh!!!  Do you hear the manicial laughter?  Anyway, we visited till late in the evening and made plans for the next day. 

Natural Food store in Groton, MA for snacks and such, then to the Ayer park for the afternoon.  It was a beautiful day and the kids had a great time.  We even found plenty of snacks that we could eat and enjoy.  While we were there we saw a guy practicing walking the tight rope.  I was fun to watch. 

I was getting pretty psyched for Independance Day. Only one more day to a fireworks show that I look toward ever year.  We usually see two shows in this town, but the Fort  Devens had cancelled the fireworks show on their land.  Probably due to economy.

Leave a comment