Finally HOT Days are here!!

It is getting me a little peeved that summer has finally come screaming around the bend only to already hav the colors of the leaves begin to change.  It is rather disturbing to see the weather being so whakced this year.  It makes me very worried about our climate changes and the prospect of an unpredictable winter to follow this.

Anyway, I thought I would bring my blog back to life from vacation with some yummy veiws.  Today I decided I was going to make sushi for lunch.  This was inspired by our viewing of another masterpeice by famous filmmaker, Hayao Miyazaki.  We went to see the newest film Ponyo.  Though mostly out of his normal standard for filmmaking since he geared this movie for American audiences, which is a downfall for this film, it was still a fun movie with really great messages throughout.

I had not attempted to make sushi before but I have eaten enough to know what I like.  Rice, seaweed, avacado, and Salmon Roe(caviar).  As you will see from the pics below, not bad for my first time, but still much room to improve.  They were delicious, but the rice needed to be cooked slightly differently than instructed as the directions were clearly not created for very fast heating  (and slow cooling) electic stoves.  That was a simple fix for future sushi making.  Next time I will pull out the salmon, but I will probably steam it quick first as I am not trained in handling fish uncook as Sushi Chefs are.  Unless, it is extremely fresh (And hello!!  I live way to far away from the ocean to call any fish here fresh!) I won’t be making true sushi.

We enjoyed the refreshing lunch with a really exciting new drink!  I have several very soft Mangos, and quickly cut up two of them and added them to my blender.  I remembered I had take several slices of watermelon and froze them in a plastic bag the last time I made smoothies, cause I didn’t want to waste them.  I took those out and thawed them slightly in the microwave.  They were still frozen but less of a big frozen block now.  I added the watermelon and blended like crazy!  It was the most fantastic drink we have had in a long time!!!  So delicious!!

After eating, I was stuffed to the gills!!

Enjoy the delicious pictures!!

Leave a Reply

